Re-Blog: Building Markdown-Based Developer Docs

Posted by Bill McGee in Best PracticesSoftware Development & Testing

Sauce Labs developer Chris Wren and his team have been working tirelessly to improve our documentation system, so we thought we'd share what they've been up to. Says Chris:

"Recently at Sauce Labs we decided to retool our documentation system. This decision came after accumulating docs in a number of template systems and repos which were difficult to standardize and maintain. The result of this effort was a new markdown-based docs site available at https://wiki.saucelabs.com/."

For all the details, be sure to check out Chris' post - just click the image below to view.

Building markdown-based developer docs

Discuss: Re-Blog: Building Markdown-Based Developer Docs
0 Comments

Free Trial

Get access to a free 14-day trial version, or contact Sales for more information.

\n

Building markdown-based developer docs

","useMarkdown":true}), document.getElementById("react_mjPSyFHBEC3tlJeqMVP1A")); ReactDOM.render(React.createElement(Components.RichTextArea, {}), document.getElementById("react_tcdJ9sC8R0WO1F0mwXa0eA")); ReactDOM.render(React.createElement(Components.Share, {"title":"Share","href":"https://saucelabs.com/blog/re-blog-building-markdown-based-developer-docs"}), document.getElementById("react_yY9bjaHYUO6fBDRGPAGA")); ReactDOM.render(React.createElement(Components.BlogPostCommentContainer, {"referenceName":"CommentsForContentView459","id":1972,"title":"Re-Blog: Building Markdown-Based Developer Docs","lang":{"cancelReply":"Cancel","commentCount":"%s Comments","commentCountSingular":"%s Comment","commentLabel":"Your comment*","emailLabel":"Email","like":"Like","liked":"Liked","nameLabel":"Name*","newestLabel":"Newest","oldestLabel":"Oldest","reply":"Reply","replyingTo":"Replying to %s","submit":"Post Comment","submitted":"Your comment has been submitted for approval.","title":"Discuss: %s"}}), document.getElementById("react_7ewzROxKfESsVJFJlRMNw")); ReactDOM.render(React.createElement(Components.ButtonGroup, {"buttons":[{"key":3630,"text":"Subscribe to our blog","href":"http://feeds.feedburner.com/saucelabs/DzbW","target":"_blank","styles":["tertiaryFilled"]}],"styles":["extraBottomMargin"]}), document.getElementById("react_FEnoOHpEeYVNCQ8LfVgQ")); ReactDOM.render(React.createElement(Components.Heading, {"text":"Categories","tag":"h3","styles":["h2LineHeight"]}), document.getElementById("react_HYEI0LRagkCEOYWllvhaQ")); ReactDOM.render(React.createElement(Components.BlogCategoryList, {"categories":[{"key":5274,"title":"Accessibility Testing","href":"/blog/category/accessibility-testing"},{"key":1546,"title":"Agile","href":"/blog/category/agile"},{"key":4316,"title":"Android","href":"/blog/category/android"},{"key":1547,"title":"AngularJS","href":"/blog/category/angularjs"},{"key":1548,"title":"Appium","href":"/blog/category/appium"},{"key":1549,"title":"Appium Resources","href":"/blog/category/appium-resources"},{"key":1550,"title":"Automation","href":"/blog/category/automation"},{"key":1551,"title":"Best Practices","href":"/blog/category/best-practices"},{"key":4194,"title":"Chef","href":"/blog/category/chef"},{"key":1552,"title":"Contests","href":"/blog/category/contests"},{"key":1553,"title":"Continuous Delivery","href":"/blog/category/continuous-delivery"},{"key":1554,"title":"Continuous Integration","href":"/blog/category/continuous-integration"},{"key":1555,"title":"Continuous Testing","href":"/blog/category/continuous-testing"},{"key":3587,"title":"Cross Browser Testing","href":"/blog/category/cross-browser-testing"},{"key":1556,"title":"DevOps","href":"/blog/category/devops"},{"key":1557,"title":"Events","href":"/blog/category/events"},{"key":1558,"title":"Guest Blog Posts","href":"/blog/category/guest-blog-posts"},{"key":4257,"title":"IoT","href":"/blog/category/iot"},{"key":3584,"title":"Java","href":"/blog/category/java"},{"key":1559,"title":"JavaScript","href":"/blog/category/javascript"},{"key":3607,"title":"Jenkins","href":"/blog/category/jenkins"},{"key":3476,"title":"JUnit","href":"/blog/category/junit"},{"key":4174,"title":"Load Testing","href":"/blog/category/load-testing"},{"key":1560,"title":"Mobile","href":"/blog/category/mobile"},{"key":1561,"title":"Mobile Development & Testing","href":"/blog/category/mobile-development-testing"},{"key":1562,"title":"News & Product Updates","href":"/blog/category/news-product-updates"},{"key":1563,"title":"Open Sauce","href":"/blog/category/open-sauce"},{"key":3655,"title":"Open Source","href":"/blog/category/open-source"},{"key":4175,"title":"Performance Testing","href":"/blog/category/performance-testing"},{"key":1564,"title":"Press","href":"/blog/category/press"},{"key":1565,"title":"Product Updates","href":"/blog/category/product-updates"},{"key":1566,"title":"Protractor","href":"/blog/category/protractor"},{"key":1567,"title":"QA","href":"/blog/category/qa"},{"key":1568,"title":"Quality Assurance","href":"/blog/category/quality-assurance"},{"key":1569,"title":"Quality Engineering","href":"/blog/category/quality-engineering"},{"key":1570,"title":"Releases","href":"/blog/category/releases"},{"key":1571,"title":"Ruby","href":"/blog/category/ruby"},{"key":1572,"title":"Sauce Product Info","href":"/blog/category/sauce-product-info"},{"key":3573,"title":"Scrum","href":"/blog/category/scrum"},{"key":1573,"title":"Security Testing","href":"/blog/category/security-testing"},{"key":1574,"title":"Selenium","href":"/blog/category/selenium"},{"key":1575,"title":"Selenium Resources","href":"/blog/category/selenium-resources"},{"key":1576,"title":"Software Development & Testing","href":"/blog/category/software-development-testing"},{"key":1577,"title":"The Story of Sauce","href":"/blog/category/the-story-of-sauce"},{"key":1578,"title":"Uncategorized","href":"/blog/category/uncategorized"},{"key":1579,"title":"Videos","href":"/blog/category/videos"},{"key":1580,"title":"WebdriverIO","href":"/blog/category/webdriverio"},{"key":1581,"title":"Webinars","href":"/blog/category/webinars"}]}), document.getElementById("react_ZucfTYxX0qUvlSes3roGg")); ReactDOM.render(React.createElement(Components.ButtonGroup, {"buttons":[{"key":2497,"text":"Free Trial","href":"/signup/trial","styles":["inverted"]},{"key":2498,"text":"Contact Us","href":"/contact","styles":["inverted"]}],"styles":["center","noMargin"]}), document.getElementById("react_4c57EvNP0yhfjtKDZFQmA")); ReactDOM.render(React.createElement(Components.SiteHeader, {"navigation":{"links":[{"key":149,"title":"Solutions","children":[{"key":160,"title":"Enterprise","href":"/enterprise","children":[{"key":162,"title":"Automated Testing Platform","href":"/enterprise#automated-testing-platform","children":[],"isActive":false},{"key":161,"title":"Cross Browser Testing","href":"/enterprise#cross-browser-testing","children":[],"isActive":false},{"key":2373,"title":"Mobile Testing","href":"/enterprise#mobile-testing","children":[],"isActive":false},{"key":2374,"title":"Manual Testing","href":"/enterprise#manual-testing","children":[],"isActive":false},{"key":163,"title":"Request a Quote","href":"http://info.saucelabs.com/enterprise-request-lp.html","target":"_blank","children":[],"isActive":false}],"isActive":false},{"key":775,"title":"Small Team","href":"/small-team","children":[{"key":772,"title":"Automated Testing Platform","href":"/small-team#automated-testing-platform","children":[],"isActive":false},{"key":771,"title":"Cross Browser Testing","href":"/small-team#cross-browser-testing","children":[],"isActive":false},{"key":2375,"title":"Mobile Testing","href":"/small-team#mobile-testing","children":[],"isActive":false},{"key":2376,"title":"Manual Testing","href":"/small-team#manual-testing","children":[],"isActive":false},{"key":774,"title":"Pricing","href":"/pricing","children":[],"isActive":false}],"isActive":false},{"key":944,"title":"Open Source","href":"/open-source","children":[{"key":942,"title":"Automated Testing Platform","href":"/open-source#automated-testing-platform","children":[],"isActive":false},{"key":941,"title":"Cross Browser Testing","href":"/open-source#cross-browser-testing","children":[],"isActive":false},{"key":2377,"title":"Mobile Testing","href":"/open-source#mobile-testing","children":[],"isActive":false},{"key":2378,"title":"Manual Testing","href":"/open-source#manual-testing","children":[],"isActive":false},{"key":943,"title":"Signup","href":"https://saucelabs.com/beta/signup/OSS/None","target":"_blank","children":[],"isActive":false}],"isActive":false},{"key":1356,"title":"Additional Products","children":[{"key":2280,"title":"JavaScript Unit Testing","href":"/products/javascript-unit-testing","children":[],"isActive":false},{"key":1357,"title":"Open Source Frameworks","href":"/products/open-source-frameworks","children":[],"isActive":false},{"key":1358,"title":"Integrations","href":"/products/integrations","children":[],"isActive":false},{"key":3466,"title":"Platforms","href":"/platforms","children":[],"isActive":false},{"key":4916,"title":"Professional Services","href":"/support/services","children":[],"isActive":false}],"isActive":false}],"isActive":false},{"key":150,"title":"Stories","children":[{"key":249,"title":"Enterprise","href":"/enterprise/stories","children":[{"key":491,"title":"Case Studies","href":"/enterprise/case-studies","children":[],"isActive":false},{"key":492,"title":"Industry Examples","href":"/enterprise/stories#industry-examples","children":[],"isActive":false},{"key":493,"title":"Testimonials","href":"/enterprise/stories#testimonials","children":[],"isActive":false}],"isActive":false},{"key":790,"title":"Small Team","href":"/small-team/stories","children":[{"key":786,"title":"Case Studies","href":"/small-team/case-studies","children":[],"isActive":false},{"key":787,"title":"Industry Examples","href":"/small-team/stories#industry-examples","children":[],"isActive":false},{"key":788,"title":"Testimonials","href":"/small-team/stories#testimonials","children":[],"isActive":false}],"isActive":false},{"key":950,"title":"Open Source","href":"/open-source/stories","children":[{"key":946,"title":"Case Studies","href":"/open-source/case-studies","children":[],"isActive":false},{"key":947,"title":"Industry Examples","href":"/open-source/stories#industry-examples","children":[],"isActive":false},{"key":948,"title":"Testimonials","href":"/open-source/stories#testimonials","children":[],"isActive":false},{"key":949,"title":"Community","href":"/community","children":[],"isActive":false}],"isActive":false}],"isActive":false},{"key":1425,"title":"Pricing","href":"/pricing","children":[],"isActive":false},{"key":152,"title":"Resources","href":"/resources","children":[{"key":1271,"title":"Featured Resources","href":"/resources","children":[],"isActive":false},{"key":607,"title":"Blog","href":"/blog","children":[],"isActive":true},{"key":841,"title":"Compare Us","href":"/compare-us","children":[],"isActive":false},{"key":1272,"title":"Videos","href":"/resources/videos","children":[],"isActive":false},{"key":606,"title":"Articles","href":"/resources/articles","children":[],"isActive":false},{"key":700,"title":"White Papers","href":"/resources/white-papers","children":[],"isActive":false},{"key":698,"title":"Data Sheets","href":"/resources/data-sheets","children":[],"isActive":false},{"key":654,"title":"Case Studies","href":"/case-studies","children":[],"isActive":false},{"key":634,"title":"Webinars","href":"/resources/webinars","children":[],"isActive":false},{"key":2855,"title":"Best Practices","href":"/resources/best-practices","children":[],"isActive":false}],"isActive":false},{"key":153,"title":"Support","href":"/support","children":[{"key":3325,"title":"Overview","href":"/support","children":[],"isActive":false},{"key":810,"title":"Knowledge Base","href":"/support#knowledge-base","children":[],"isActive":false},{"key":811,"title":"Documentation","href":"/support#documentation","children":[],"isActive":false},{"key":813,"title":"Training","href":"https://training.saucelabs.com/","target":"_blank","children":[],"isActive":false},{"key":3326,"title":"Services","href":"/support#services","children":[],"isActive":false},{"key":809,"title":"Contact Support","href":"/support#contact","children":[],"isActive":false}],"isActive":false},{"key":154,"title":"Company","href":"/company","children":[{"key":1156,"title":"Company","href":"/company","children":[{"key":1198,"title":"Team","href":"/company/team","children":[],"isActive":false},{"key":1157,"title":"Values","href":"/company/values","children":[],"isActive":false},{"key":1448,"title":"Careers","href":"/company/careers","children":[],"isActive":false},{"key":1167,"title":"Partners","href":"/company/partners","children":[],"isActive":false},{"key":1430,"title":"Contact Us","href":"/contact","children":[],"isActive":false}],"isActive":false},{"key":1238,"title":"News","href":"/news","children":[{"key":1239,"title":"Press Releases","href":"/news/category/press-releases","children":[],"isActive":false},{"key":1240,"title":"Press Coverage","href":"/news/category/press-coverage","children":[],"isActive":false},{"key":1241,"title":"Awards","href":"/news/category/awards","children":[],"isActive":false}],"isActive":false},{"key":1042,"title":"Community","href":"/community","children":[{"key":1043,"title":"Join Secret Sauce","href":"/community#secretsauce","children":[],"isActive":false},{"key":1044,"title":"Events","href":"/community#events","children":[],"isActive":false},{"key":1132,"title":"Appium","href":"/community#appium","children":[],"isActive":false},{"key":1133,"title":"Selenium","href":"/community#selenium","children":[],"isActive":false}],"isActive":false}],"isActive":false}],"cta":{"text":"Free Trial","href":"/signup/trial"},"signIn":{"text":"Sign In","href":"/beta/login"}}}), document.getElementById("react_jHjIq1sbkEWss49RxSoJ4A")); ReactDOM.render(React.createElement(Components.SiteFooter, {"lang":{"captoraHeading":"Trending Topics","copyright":"© 2017 Sauce Labs. All rights reserved.","subscribeButtonText":"Join","subscribeEmailLabel":"Email*","subscribeFormID":"385","subscribeHeading":"Join our mailing list"},"links":[{"key":108,"title":"Solutions","children":[{"key":323,"title":"Enterprise","href":"/enterprise","children":[],"isActive":false},{"key":767,"title":"Small Team","href":"/small-team","children":[],"isActive":false},{"key":951,"title":"Open Source","href":"/open-source","children":[],"isActive":false}],"isActive":false},{"key":112,"title":"Stories","children":[{"key":376,"title":"Enterprise","href":"/enterprise/stories","children":[],"isActive":false},{"key":800,"title":"Small Team","href":"/small-team/stories","children":[],"isActive":false},{"key":952,"title":"Open Source","href":"/open-source/stories","children":[],"isActive":false}],"isActive":false},{"key":122,"title":"Resources","href":"/resources","children":[{"key":1273,"title":"Featured Resources","href":"/resources","children":[],"isActive":false},{"key":609,"title":"Blog","href":"/blog","children":[],"isActive":true},{"key":993,"title":"Compare Us","href":"/compare-us","children":[],"isActive":false}],"isActive":false},{"key":802,"title":"Support","href":"/support","target":"_blank","children":[{"key":803,"title":"Contact Support","href":"/support#contact","children":[],"isActive":false},{"key":805,"title":"Knowledge Base","href":"/support#knowledge-base","children":[],"isActive":false},{"key":806,"title":"Documentation","href":"/support#documentation","children":[],"isActive":false},{"key":808,"title":"Training","href":"https://training.saucelabs.com/","target":"_blank","children":[],"isActive":false},{"key":3566,"title":"Status","href":"https://status.saucelabs.com/","target":"_blank","children":[],"isActive":false}],"isActive":false},{"key":144,"title":"Company","href":"/company","children":[{"key":1160,"title":"Team","href":"/company/team","children":[],"isActive":false},{"key":1158,"title":"Values","href":"/company/values","children":[],"isActive":false},{"key":1237,"title":"Careers","href":"/company/careers","children":[],"isActive":false},{"key":2879,"title":"Partners","href":"/company/partners","children":[],"isActive":false},{"key":3467,"title":"Contact Us","href":"/contact","children":[],"isActive":false}],"isActive":false},{"key":2875,"title":"News","href":"/news","children":[{"key":2876,"title":"Press Releases","href":"/news/category/press-releases","children":[],"isActive":false},{"key":2877,"title":"Press Coverage","href":"/news/category/press-coverage","children":[],"isActive":false},{"key":2878,"title":"Awards","href":"/news/category/awards","children":[],"isActive":false}],"isActive":false},{"key":116,"title":"Community","href":"/community","children":[{"key":1045,"title":"Join Secret Sauce","href":"/community#secretsauce","children":[],"isActive":false},{"key":1046,"title":"Events","href":"/community#events","children":[],"isActive":false},{"key":1134,"title":"Appium","href":"/community#appium","children":[],"isActive":false},{"key":1135,"title":"Selenium","href":"/community#selenium","children":[],"isActive":false}],"isActive":false}],"disclaimerLinks":[{"key":354,"title":"Terms of Service","href":"/terms-of-service","children":[],"isActive":false},{"key":355,"title":"Privacy Policy","href":"/privacy-policy","children":[],"isActive":false}],"copyright":"© 2017 Sauce Labs. All rights reserved.","socialLinks":[{"key":1462,"service":"Facebook","href":"https://www.facebook.com/saucelabs","icon":"facebook"},{"key":1463,"service":"Twitter","href":"https://twitter.com/saucelabs","icon":"twitter"},{"key":1464,"service":"Google Plus","href":"https://plus.google.com/111293610298852124914","icon":"google-plus"},{"key":1465,"service":"LinkedIn","href":"https://www.linkedin.com/company/891955","icon":"linkedin"}],"marketoId":"468-XBT-687","captora":"\n\n"}), document.getElementById("react_jJvewL3QkkaNSnGSDy9g"));